Do Oompa Loompas really exist???

5 Sep

As a child growing up, I had a passion for books rather than toys. It was this passion that made me fall in love with the books of Roald Dahl. Endless were the hours spent, in Charlie’s Chocolate Factory, with James and his Giant Peach, and countless other magical places that this timeless author took me to. That which I adored more than anything, is that the books were filled with exquisite messages that I have subliminally carried in my being through this life.

Here now are some of  enchanting quotes from the master storytellers works.

“It doesn’t matter who you are or what you look like, so long as somebody loves you.”

“So, please, oh please, we beg, we pray, go throw your TV set away, and in its place you can install, a lovely bookcase on the wall.”

    “A little nonsense now and then, is cherished by the wisest men.”    

“The witching hour, somebody had once whispered to her, was a special moment in the middle of the night when every child and every grown-up was in a deep deep sleep, and all the dark things came out from hiding and had the world all to themselves.”

“Matilda said, “Never do anything by halves if you want to get away with it.  Be outrageous.  Go the whole hog.  Make sure everything you do is so completely crazy it’s unbelievable…”

“If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.”

“I was glad my father was an eye-smiler. It meant he never gave me a fake smile because it’s impossible to make your eyes twinkle if you aren’t feeling twinkly yourself. A mouth-smile is different. You can fake a mouth-smile any time you want, simply by moving your lips. I’ve also learned that a real mouth-smile always has an eye-smile to go with it. So watch out, I say, when someone smiles at you but his eyes stay the same. It’s sure to be a phony.”    

“When you grow up and have children of your own, do please remember something important:  A stodgy parent is not fun at all!  What a child wants – and DESERVES – is a parent who is SPARKY!”

“My candle burns at both ends. It will not last the night, but ah my foes and oh my friends, it gives a lovely light.”

“Of course they’re real people. They’re Oompa-Loompas…Imported direct from Loompaland…And oh what a terrible country it is! Nothing but thick jungles infested by the most dangerous beasts in the world – hornswogglers and snozzwangers and those terrible wicked whangdoodles. A whangdoodle would eat ten Oompa-Loompas for breakfast and come galloping back for a second helping.”

“Watch with glittery eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places.”